NEWMAN UNIVERSITY

COUNCIL

rd April 2019 at 9.45 am in ST102/103 Minutes of the Meeting held Wednesday 3

Present:

Mr Jonathan Day Chair of the Council

Mr Glen Alexander

Mr Tom Ashford President, Newman Students' Union (NSU)

Dr John Carlisle

Professor Peter Childs Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Ms Gayle Ditchburn Ms Deirdre Finucane Ms Karan Gilmore Mr Colin Harris Ms Julie Jones Mr Stephen Kenny Mr Phillip Lennon

Ms Leoarna Mathias(from item 2.2 onwards)

Ms Elizabeth McGrath QC Professor Femi Oyebode

Mr Richard Wallace

In Attendance:

Ms Andrea Bolshaw Registrar and University Secretary

and Clerk to the Council

Mr Tony Sharma Chief Financial Officer

Council 4 3 19 1 of 5

Council 4 3 19 2 of 5

Chancellor. Professor Davidson hadretained accountability for the University's budget.

Now that Professor Davidson had

Council 4 3 19 3 of 5

Action: Chair of Council and President of the Students' Union.

Whilst the process for the appointment of Professor Davidson was felt to have been effective, some members of Council felt that full Council should have had more exposure to the two final candidates. The Chair advised that Council would be involved and informed throughout the process.

Resolved: UC 8/2019 to approve

- a) the overall search process as given in paper UC 23/19
- the establishment of a Search Committee as given in the paper, with terms of reference as set out in Appendix 1 of the paper.
- c) the Search Committee to appoint search consultants

4. Date of Next Meeting

Thursday 20th June 2019 at 2pm.

Council 4 3 19 4 of 5

Council

Action Plan from the meeting held on 3rd April 2019

Minute Agenda Item Action to be Taken Person

8d44 0.4P <<8MCs.88 114eBDC 43aR)-679 r 0.77o>ch -0 0 1P <<8MCp 144.23r 0.77o>>BDse≴MotosBD222MCs.88 -700Ct

Council 4 3 19 5 of 5